Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[DeBushification] Obama… One of Us?

Posted by Lex Fear on January 23, 2009

There’s a lot of cynicism out there about the man, Obama. It’s not entirely unjustified either, our American friends did not get to experience the enthusiasm and promise of a young Tony Blair becoming Prime Minister and ushering in a new wave of ‘Cool Britannia’. That was before the Millennium Dome, the spin-meisters, Iraq, David Kelly, Jean Charles DeMenezes, the surveillence state, banning of protest… and don’t forget all along Gordon Brown riding on top of a spectacular bubble as though he had brought a new era of wealth – ignoring all the warnings by people more intelligent than he.

So yeah, I understand the cynicism about Obama. However I can’t help but be won over by the actions of his first few days in office. Most of us were expecting the usual settling in period, the careful introduction of new policy and slow pushing out of the old… not so for Obama, why it’s almost like one of us got into the White House and set about putting immediately putting right what has gone so horribly wrong.

And like one of us, he’s bound to piss people off, get things wrong and misunderstand the old, establised process.

Still, in just 4 days he has ordered a stop to torture, rendition flights and secret jails, put a stop on staff payrises, taken away as much power as possible from lobbyists, set the closure of guantanamo bay in motion, embraced creative commons, honoured freedom of information, promised to put Israeal/Palastine on the agenda (which I see as a snub to our ponzi Middle-East Envoy), and now reversed one of Bushes executive orders to keep former President records private.

I don’t remember any such dramatic reversal or regime change in history apart from war and revolution.

Although I don’t agree with Obama’s policy towards the global recession and bailing out financial terrorists institutions, I have faith that this is not the same old tribal politics we are going to see. It is plainly obvious that Obama has character and he is not going to do things the same way. I don’t think America will be the same either.

I just hope he doesn’t screw up. I’ve seen so many great and inspiring people personally screw up… enough to make you renounce your faith. When I hear people gush about Obama, all I can think is “He’s not the Messiah, he’s a very naughty boy.”

So, if you’re still a die-hard cynic, at least take consolation in the fact that even if he’s not championing your own personal cause, he’s making steps in the right direction. Much like William Wilberforce took on the huge political task of overhauling Britains slave industry.

7 Responses to “[DeBushification] Obama… One of Us?”

  1. ruthtalks said

    Obama screwed up

    Never in American history has a new President screwed up so many times in his first three days as President.

    Barack obama has set a world’s screw up record worthy of the Guiness Book of Records.

    The next four years are going to be fun, fun FUN!!!

  2. I’ve also been very happy with what Obama has done in the little time he’s been President so far. There are always going to be the Fox News type outlets obsessing over finding fault with his actions, but so far he’s done nothing yet to contradict my optimism.

  3. House said

    I’ve also been very happy with Obama’s first days, but I’m not going to hold my breath. I try to remember that it’s only been a few days, and he has four years ahead of him. We can’t jump the gun. I wish him well.

    http://www.truthinthelies.wordpress.com

  4. BHudson said

    I think his actions so far have been promising and very positive. However, for me he’s always been the lesser of two evils. I can’t imagine the honeymood period lasting too long. But for the time being, he deserves praise for (arguably) making more progress for the good of the people in a few days than Bush did in years.

  5. Cecilieaux said

    Writing from the opposite side of the pond, I find a lot of truth (and some pleasant surprises) in what you write. Yes, the canonization of St. Obama the Elephant Slayer has gone a bit too far — and I think heś cognizant of the dire need to lower expectations. I, for one, am convinced that his low-key inaugural address, which was not one of his most stirring speeches, was tempered precisely because of his awareness of that need.

    I see Obama as a very cool and controlled individual with some clear goals in mind, who is a virtuoso in the art of persuasion and leadership.

    The parallels with Blair that I see are different. Egad! I started to write a blog. I think I will. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. […] Posts [Resistance] How To Respond To TV Licensing Threats[Atheism] Probably[DeBushification] Obama… One of Us?[Detux] 2 Years of UbuntuGuides: How I Did It[Paranoia] It’s Always the Quiet Ones[Review] The […]

  7. He was elected as Labour leader on June 25, 2007, though he ran unopposed. I don’t know how you imagine someone could “inherit” such a role. It’s not like the monarchy.

Leave a comment