Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

The Future

Posted by Lex Fear on January 17, 2009

A belated Happy New Year to all my readers who I can now count on two hands. It seems odd to be posting after such a while, I’ve been taking some time out as well as harassing other bloggers by over-using their comment feature.

Firstly, I’ve had some emails recently so I want to let those who have emailed know that I’ll get round to responding to you soon.

This post is about the future, the future of this blog specifically.

I think about the future a lot. I think about the current state of cultures and societies, scientific consensus, and what will those who come after us will say about this time. People who ascribe to old values, or belief systems that are considered a throwback to medieval times are mocked and villified. I see no reason that some of the accepted theories and philosophies of the day will be also be derided and mocked in the future. I wonder how many times a ‘new paradigm’ will be declared only to be shot down in flames when the next paradigm comes along.

I don’t think many bloggers or forum posters think like this. I say so because I’ve read their posts.

I like the idea that my words will be here for future generations to read and observe ideas were around at the beginning of the 21st Century. I like that people will be able to marvel at how insightful and forward thinking I was… or how spectacularly wrong I got it.

But on to the future of this blog. I have some interesting developments which should please people who consider Alex Fear to write things worth reading.

I have been advised by my site hosts, Lycos, that they are feeling very credit crunchy indeed and so are selling the web-hosting business. Some time in February in fact, this site will cease to exist… unless I transfer.

But I’m not transferring.

This website remains due to my ability to fund it. Apart from a small amount I’ve received from advertising, it’s funded by my own pocket. Whilst I like the idea of having my own base, as it were, something has always troubled me about this – what if something happened? What if I got struck by a bus and the funding no longer continued?

Though I wasn’t ready to contemplate a move, it seems my hosts have forced it upon me, therefore I’m going to be migrating this blog – to a WordPress hosted one. It’s not my first preference, I’d rather go back to Blogger, but WordPress hosting is the only way I get to keep all the comments and settings from this one, for now.

I’ll be migrating shortly, and I’ll be removing content from this site and putting on redirect. I may look and see if it’s possible for me to keep the domain name, without hosting- but admittedly and embarrassingly I’m not definite of how this works.

There is more news to come, which I’ll follow up with soon.

One Response to “The Future”

  1. mattghg said

    Well, all the best with that, ‘Lex. I look forward to the new look site and the new posts.

Leave a Reply

 
