Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

When The Cure Is Worse Than The Disease

Posted by Lex Fear on March 30, 2008

Let me ease your suffering...I suffer from problems with my sinuses which cause me to sneeze at the slightest change in atmosphere. Bright sunlight can do it, sometimes just walking into another room will set me off into a sneezing fit. I believe it may be related to asthma I developed when I was 3 but my mother refused to give me an inhaler because she had read people can become addicted. At least I don’t have trouble breathing.

I was told by a doctor that due to the type of sensitive lining I have on the inside of my nose, I can’t get the problem fixed. I’ve tried meds, I’ve tried prayer and having hands laid on me, heck I even laid hands on myself but to no avail. The only thing I’ve found on the market that works is Benadryl.

It was then I discovered a couple of years ago a user called luckbeawierdo posted his testimonial on how to cure your asthma or hayfever using hookworm.

Walking barefoot in soil contaminated with feces (the source of hookworm eggs/larvae) is the most common method of exposure. The other is inadvertent ingestion of contaminated feces. Note that the hookworm cannot proliferate in your gut, you can only increase your infestation level by coming into skin contact with larvae or ingesting contaminated feces. After skin penetration, the venous circulation carries larvae to the pulmonary bed, where they lodge in pulmonary capillaries. Within 3-5 days, the larvae break through into alveoli and travel up the ciliary escalator from the lungs into the bronchi, the trachea, and the pharynx. This often causes a violent cough such as I experienced. It woke me up, continued for about two hours and was so violent at its peak that I vomited into my mouth.

Please follow the link, it’s well worth reading the whole fascinating story, particularly if you are a sufferer like me.

Still, I think I’ll be sticking to benadryl and prayer.

2 Responses to “When The Cure Is Worse Than The Disease”

  1. lwtc247 said

    That’s one heck of a lot of playing around with feces Alex.
    A quick trapse around Whitehall should do nicely.

  2. That is some story! It makes you wonder what else we have “uncured” in recent centuries.

Leave a Reply

 
