Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

Jesus Loves Paparazzi Whore

Posted by Lex Fear on October 8, 2007

I’m finding hardly any time to blog with the amount of training I’m doing at the moment, and little time to rest either, but I did get to see an interesting program on BBC3 last night: Singing With The Enemy.

It’s not normally something I’d be interested in, but I found this episode fascinating due to the fact they were featuring a contemporary Christian band: Dweeb from Nexus in coventry (I also know a couple of people who attended this music college) and a punk rock band called Parazzi Whore, who feature lesbians and strippers as part of their lineup.

I tuned in and prepared to roll my eyes violently at the faux collaboration that the BBC had pulled together (obviously in order to generate some conflict for their mockumentary). What I found myself watching instead was 4 very earnest and very real Christian lads who came across credible and sincere. They handled the whole situation tactfully, not wanting to compromise their principles whilst at the same time trying not to project their faith onto PW or cause them conform.

In fact they’re message was so clear and they were so consistent in their attitudes and beliefs that when lead singer, Tim, read a verse from the bible (during their turn performing) that poledancer Suzy (who was also PW’s lead singer Nicky’s lesbian lover) experienced feeling what she described as falling in love. Discussing this with Dweeb, who had been praying for PW, they affirmed that they believed that what she felt was the love of God.

Suzy decided she could no longer continue with PW but was quick to point out this was her own decision, that it felt like she was following her destiny and it was completely her own choice. The last part of the program saw Suzy walking towards a church as the BBC explained she was “still following her spiritual path”. There was no brainwashing, evangelising or advantage taking involved- she was not shown to have joined Dweeb or even be taken into their church fellowship.

I had to hand it to Dweeb, they had shown themselves to be true to their faith and to Jesus. God clearly worked through them to reveal a little bit of himself to Suzy, and hopefully, she will discover more of God and be able to lead others in the way.

But it actually made me stop and think. It made me want to re-examine my own relationship with God and try to live more consistently. I have become very self reliant and independent, unfortunately this makes it harder for me to look for help from above when I need it.

God, I need you.

13 Responses to “Jesus Loves Paparazzi Whore”

  1. Emma said

    Oh how wonderful it was! I was just on my way to bed, so tired, and it must have been the Lord prompting me to flick through the channels before turning the TV off. This programme had just started. I watched with interest as I’m a musician myself. When Suzy was filled with the Spirit of the Lord it was AWESOME! I remember how I felt, the first time I felt God’s love. NOTHING can compare and there’s not really any way to explain it to others. I’m keen to see how her walk with Jesus is going and I pray that she finds the strength to resist her detractors.

    God is awesome.

  2. I thought it was inspirational.

    Judging by the number of searches that have found my post, I imagine there are many out there (myself included) who want to discover what Suzy is doing now and how it’s going.

  3. Emma said

    I hope we find out how she is somehow. I’ve added Dweeb on myspace too 🙂

  4. Hannah said

    Hey, I found your blog having googled the TV programme – was trying to find what both bands had been upto since the programme was recorded. I am a Christian myself and my hubby is a youth worker – we also watched it quite cautiously that they would make it out that Dweeb would lecture PW on their choices and we were chuffed that they hadn’t been like that. You’re blog is going on my RSS list. I’d like to know what Suzy is upto now because it wasn’t like she just quit a band she lost her girlfriend in the same sweep (not that i agree with the grounds of their relationship – if you get me)

  5. Thanks Hannah,

    Much obliged, I’ll put you on my RSS list too.

    I guess if anyone knows what Suzy is up to, or Suzy herself finds this then we’d all like to know. I think the best bet is for people to head over to Dweebs MySpace and see if they have any idea. Pap Whore might know but they didn’t seem to part on great terms.

  6. […] about what Suzy was upto now after she left PW (Paparazzi Whore). I stumbled across this blog Abandon All Fear. Still no luck though so if anyone knows it would be good to know if you get me. Posted in […]

  7. David said

    I just stumbled across this site and read some of the comments about Suzy. What a lot of self-satisfied sanctimonious hogwash some people will come out with. Suzy is my best friend in the world – bar none; and all she did was to respect the views of some people who have different beliefs to hers. “Filled with the love of God!” – Rather filled with love for all people, as she has always been. Caring, loving, giving, open, honest, warm, genuine, loyal and passionate about all the things she does. these are the things which go a little way towards describing this remarkable lady. As to what she’s doing now; she is carrying on being the gracious and energetic lady she truly is; singing, (With “Second Sight”), dancing, and working hard. To all those people out there who think they have some sort of “God” given right to make assumptions about the life and ways of another human being: Open your eyes and your hearts and see the truth; we are all human, all falible and all wonderful, however and whoever we deify, worship or otherwise acknowledge.

    Blessed Be.

  8. Hannah said

    All we wondered was how she was doing – hello she split up with the band and her girlfriend all in one hit. I didn’t make “any assumptions about the life and ways of another human being”. Yes we know we are human and falliable.

  9. David, I was half tempted to interject your comment with a ‘fisking’. There are some minor points I’d like to pick out of your comment.

    – I’d agree with Hannah, Suzy didn’t merely “respect the views of some people who have different beliefs to hers” (and neither do you seem to) rather she made a life-changing decision (regardless of spirituality) to leave a committed relationship and leave the band. No-one needs to be an empathetic character to realise that took a lot of strength and conviction.

    – No-one here on the post or in the comments has asserted Suzy was “filled with the love of God”. On the program we all watched, Suzy herself said she felt the experience that would best be described as “falling in love”. I myself along with others believe she felt the love of God. Did she declare she’d fell in love with anyone? No, she felt the love of someone else- certainly not just a simple attraction from the band members or the crowd.

    – It sounds as though you are not a Christian, therefore you’re not going to appreciate our interpretation of experiences like that, which is fair enough. I assume being Suzy’s BFF you would know a little about respecting the views of others, so I expect your next comment (if you choose to comment) be as graceful as Suzy would commenting herself.

    – As Christians we are not all about spirituality and love. We also believe all are fallible (all have sinned and fallen short) and so therefore need God. That goes for all the ‘Mother Theresa’s as much as it goes for the ‘Hitler’s out there. No-one is better than any other.

    -What truth do you wish us to see? It appears you agree with the Christian theological viewpoint (established before you or I came along).

    -Yes we’d like to hear more about Suzy, I can’t find any relevant links to “Second Sight” so do you have any? What’s she been up to and what does she believe?

  10. Emma said

    Wow, David. Your anger is slightly misplaced and inappropriate to say the least. Chill ya boots.

  11. Hannah said

    ok yup takes me to myspace – I can do that too http://www.myspace.com/jesusfreaksunited

    yay

  12. Hannah said

    Hey
    Dropped a message to Dweeb a little while ago and got a response if you use the link on post 12 – then look at my MySpace Comments there is an interesting development of sorts

  13. Sounds good Hannah! Thanks for the update.

Leave a Reply

 
