Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

More On WordPress

Posted by Lex Fear on August 31, 2007

I admit it, it’s taken me longer to get used to WordPress than I first thought. I still haven’t got round to replicating my blogroll or doing the resource stuff! But don’t delink me yet, it will come!

I went with Lyc0s’s installation of WordPress, which should automatically update you when a new version is ready but I’m stuck with 2.1.x and the latest version is 2.2.x. I discovered this because I have been struggling with widgets since transferring and only just realised I could download the ‘Widgets’ extension itself for backwards compatibility with blogs older than 2.2.x.

This makes it a lot easier than doing the hard coding (you will have noticed the effects of my manual widgetizing if you came by at the wrong time). Fortunately I have also discovered this slick admin extension that allows me to put up a maintenance page for the site- no more splattered code for you guys.

In other Meta, it looks like my controversial subject matter has finally paid off and my ship has come in. I recieved an email from someone at DIMACC with a proposal to buy advertising space on the blog. Before anyone starts, I’ve never been against blog advertising, after all I pay to host this website and I’ve been wanting to find some way to subsidize it for a while.

Neither do I feel like I’ve sold out, I used Adsense when I first started, but it just didn’t pay.
I’ve been asked to place 5 individual advertisements for some older posts, hopefully, if they do well then perhaps I’ll get more. The great thing is they are textual, there’s no links that would cause me to feel pharisaic and, most importantly I have been offered a decent upfront fee!

15 Responses to “More On WordPress”

  1. DIMACC contacted me today. Did you take them up on the offer?

  2. Yes, I posted 5 text-ads on my old blog and they sent a payment via paypal. It was over $100. I haven’t received any more requests since.

  3. They want links from 14 different pages within news.freshports.org, lists.freshports.org, and http://www.freshports.org.

    I’m interested, but with a time limit. That is, the links are not permanent and a recurring payment is necessary for continued links.

    I haven’t figured their angle yet. I suspect they are trying to increase the page rank for various clients. In which case, the links provided are valuable indeed.

    🙂

  4. Dan,

    I never enquired about the time limit, they’re still there now, interestingly they wanted the links on my old blog and didn’t seem too concerned that I’d stopped blogging there and moved to this one.

    I’d check with them, I got a one off payment and haven’t had any contact since, but I’m not going to be removing the pages anytime soon so it’s not a problem right now (and I assume they’ve probably milked the links for what they’re worth already).

  5. Where are the ads?

  6. Alex Fear said

    The ads can be found here:

    http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog/2006/12/immigration-problem-part-1.html

    http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog/2006/10/next-housing-crash-prelude.html

    http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog/2007/05/home-spun-prophecies.html

    http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog/2007/05/motherly-love.html

    http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog/2007/03/dog-vinci-code.html

  7. Anonymous is investigating Dimacc in relation to scientology/fraud

  8. Alex Fear said

    @Scientrollogy

    Interesting. This is a long time ago now for my blog, the ads are still there but I was contacted to change the wording, no money offered, I didn’t bother, I’ve not been contact since.

    Do you have a link with details of their investigation or will we hear when it’s on BoingBoing?

  9. please. use email. details @ http://scientrollogy.org/board/index.php?topic=520.0 is part of “a right can of worms”

  10. site^ (in website field) is link to email details..

  11. David Thomas said

    I just got the same kind of offer from dimacc.org today also. It has to be some sort of crazy evil plot. The web page they want to put ads into has only gotten about 250 hits in the past 5 days. It makes no ecomonic sense. What are these people up to?

  12. CB said

    Ditto, says the fish, wishing he could spit that hook back out. I’m pretty sure I’ve figured out their game. They carefully choose content-rich sites whose text links take you to other content rich sites; that is, they choose, you, an ethical-but-poor webmaster who has tried really hard to create good content and have refused, over and over, to place their, let’s say–genealogy client’s–link on your site, because it’s a VERY commercial genealogy client. This marketer buys, say, 3 words on your page. Two words link to sites that are content rich and unobjectionable, like government sites on documents and U.S. history. (Wow, this marketer must have some really big clients!!!) The 3rd link makes you, as a webmaster, cringe, and say, ‘Ugh–I hate that kind of link! It’s so-o-o-o commercial!’ And they want to link it to a MAIN keyword on your page, drat! It seems unethical; but… as a webmaster, you know that these ads are everywhere–so everybody must be doing it, right? And these people will pay you $150. And you’ve heard of them. You are about to get hold of that webmaster pie in the sky you’ve seen Jerry Yang eating!!! And you ARE the poor, starving variety of webmaster. So, this marketer must be on the up and up, right? In fact, their name sounds a lot like a company you’ve heard of. You take the bait and agree to place the links and you get your money, fast. You are very pleased, except for that slightly gaggy feeling at the back of your throat and that noticeable blush on your face. You have just added the kind of link to your page that you usually refuse when a spammer contacts you and says, “Please add my super-fantastic ancestor-search link to your page.” Google will love it–it’s a text link on a content-rich page. Your reader will be okay with two of the links and very irritated at the third link. Now, my guess is, that marketer will now submit your site to 800,000 search engines, or SPAM it out to 8,000,000 people, which could hurt your own page rank–but will help theirs. I hope that’s not the next step, but I suspect it is. Example of how it works: they find a page that belongs to a tiny museum in Podunkville. It’s hosted by a volunteer webmaster, but he’s an avid volunteer, so he paid $100 out of his own moth-eaten pocket to renew the page for 10 years. The page flies WAY under the radar for the main keyword (ex.: ‘genealogy’ or ‘ancestor’) but it ranks NUMBER 1 for “Podunkville Genealogical Society.” So high, in fact, that the Chamber of Commerce in Podunkville just about wet its pants when they found out that some miserable, unpaid volunteer actually created a web page for “Podunkville Genealogy Society.” So Podunkville Chamber of Commerce eagerly links your page to their site. So do all the genealogy buffs in Podunkville. Dozens, or maybe, hundreds, of avid genealogists are wishing desperately for a searchable database for Podunkville ancestry records. They find your site. They know your site! It is a good reputable site with good, non-commercial links! There is a sentence that says, “Podunkville Genealogical Society has many original documents and records pertaining to early Podunkville immigrants.” The marketer buys the word “documents” and links it to his client, “GREEDY-PIG DOCUMENT SEARCH/WE CHARGE $100 FOR DOO-DOO!” And you, the webmaster, are sitting there thinking, “It felt kind of like rape, but I did say, ‘Yes.'” (Sigh.) Too late. You promised. Quite a few other webmasters have fallen for it. I click on those links all the time. And am always very disappointed to find out that that very promising link leads to a commercial site, not a free database. I’ve almost learned to spot the keywords and avoid clicking.

  13. David Thomas said

    Thanks, CB, for your well-thoguht-out analysis. It actually makes sense! I’m going to tell them “no thank you”!

  14. CB said

    Hi… Yes, at first I thought, “I’m just afraid of success.” But I dislike sneaky commercial links hidden in the text of an article. Apparently selling text links can hurt your page rank. (I honestly don’t see how it could hurt mine, LOL.) “Brandon” posted this comment on Problogger: “I love it when blogs that make no money and really serve no purpose refuse to sell links because of the risk. What’s the risk…that you might actually make some money?” So I guess it comes down to what you find acceptable on your own website. Some bloggers commented that if you do sell text links on your site add a nofollow attribute to it (a href=”whatever” rel=”nofollow”).

    Ref: http://www.problogger.net/archives/2008/10/29/do-you-sell-text-links-on-your-blog-poll/

  15. I hope all is well. I’m out trying to find some other people with some of the same interests I have.

    Hope all stays well.

    Chuck

Leave a Reply

 
