Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[Freedom] Xubuntu…

Posted by Lex Fear on April 26, 2007

Is what I went with in the end. I am now posting this from my 266mhz, 64mb ram Laptop with Xubuntu installed… it’s a Xubuntop!

I actually had it up and running with the wireless last week but I found the OS just a tad slow to respond, as well as surfing. I then de-installed it and tried Vector Linux (also based on XFCE) which was reasonable speed at performing tasks on the desktop, but once I got the wireless going and onto Firefox the thing fell over. Xubuntu runs Firefox, but as I type the letters take half a second to appear onscreen. I still may go back and test Damn Small Linux, I also downloaded some over ISO distributions I will try soon.

I currently have no sound, the software updates take hours to download, indeed the Xubuntop itself took over 10 hours to install. But in the end the wireless is actually easy to install since Xubuntu has the drivers for my card (Netgear MA521). Video and even YouTube is a no go. I could do it but I’m not going to attempt to add pictures to this post. But it will be useful for the odd game (I intend to download Pingus) and for some lightweight blogging.

No links in this post, sorry but once again it would take me a while to load web pages! Just highlight any of the words and right-click, select google “…” to search for it (don’t know if that works in IE).

Xubuntu is a version of Linux and open source (‘freeware’ for you who are still hooked up to Microsoft), I’ll be doing a follow up post on my move to open source software soon, and how I almost ditched Vista for a Linux OS on my main PC! Unfortunately I shall be remaining with Vista for now (it was a free upgrade) but again, I can’t recommend this enough, if you have any one these below, step out of the boat and go for Linux:

  • A slightly older machine that could not support Vista
  • Can’t afford or refuse to pay the high cost for Vista
  • Desire to cut dependency on Microsoft
  • Want to get your hands on tons of free, secure and up to date software
  • A system that doesn’t crash or hit you with the Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) every now and then.

And If you want to try an alternative to MS (and wanting to avoiding Mac), but are still unsure of Linux and how it all works. Don’t be afraid, there are

  • Thousands of helpful people out there on the forums,
  • hundreds of different brands of Linux for different levels of knowledge and experience

I recommend Ubuntu as it comes with lots of drivers and software pre-installed, lots of Microsoft Asylum seekers are switching to it and raving about it. It has great support forums.

Leave a Reply

 
