Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[Hiatus] Busy Elsewhere

Posted by Lex Fear on April 16, 2007

I haven’t been blogging for a while.

The truth is I’ve been trying out different versions of Linux on an old Compaq Presario.

Specs:
64mb Ram (feel the speed!)
4.1gb hdd
266mhz P2 with MMX
Whopping 800×600 screen resolution!

So I’ve tried Damn Small Linux, Damn Small Linux-Not, Vector Linux and now Xubuntu– all which have worked (Xubuntu being slightly sluggish). I also tried a couple of Puppy Linux versions and Debian but I couldn’t get the GUI to boot despite googling forums.

The main problem I have on all of these flavours is to get my old Netgear MA521 wireless card to work. There are 2 ways of doing it, with Netgears driver and with the source files from Realtek, but so far I’ve failed on both, there are different problems with each OS I use.

(If anyone has any suggestions- either a Linux OS or Netgear solution, please email me or leave comments- thanks!)

Still it’s fun to learn. If you have an old computer, I highly recommend injecting some new life with a low ram Linux alternative. There are little or no copyright laws to worry about, and lots of free support forums with people willing to answer your newbie questions.

This blog shall be on hiatus until I can get the damn Netgear card to work, then I shall signify my victory by blogging a post from my new (old) Linux laptop.

Leave a Reply

 
