Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[Anecdotes] The Man from Uncle

Posted by Lex Fear on September 30, 2006

The other night I was called Uncle for the first time, on 2 different occasions. The first was my brother announcing I was to be an uncle whilst I was sitting on the toilet. The second time came later at night- I was watching Smallville on my laptop and my new Canadian niece and nephew sent me an msn message: “Hey, Uncle Alex!”

I have to say it feels kind of weird to become an automatic uncle, not just once but several times over. It’s like I’ve breached the adultsphere. I feel like I should grow a mullet and ‘tash like Earl Hickey, ‘cos that’s what every uncle looked like to me when I was growing up. They all had that cheeky smile and a wink, you always felt like they were in the know but they wouldn’t grass you up. Maybe it will be cool being an uncle.

I shouldn’t feel that old though. I remember becoming an uncle was one of the cool things when you were 13 at school. Kids used to announce it like a badge of honour, like they had now been promoted above us.

Kids still do that at school today, except it’s not “I’ve become an uncle”, instead it’s “I’ve become a dad”.

Tags:

Add to del.icio.us

Leave a Reply

 
