Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[Tragedy] Blogger Beta Ate My Blogs!

Posted by Lex Fear on September 6, 2006

It’s a true blogging horror story, it wasn’t pretty…

It was a late Saturday night and I had finished making final edits to my blog template, getting the colours and the new heading all lined up, tidying up the links and shameless advertising. Finally satisfied, one final click back to the Dashboard, where I spy a an option to upgrade to the new Beta.

Cautiously I clicked for more information and was sold on instantly on the labeling options and the exile of Blogger’s wheel of update- 0%… 0%… 20%… 65%… 96%… 100%.

Then I did something utterly stupid and out of character. I was tired, it was late, the little teccie voice inside my head was indeed blurbing “Wait a minute, shouldn’t you test this with a new blog?”, but instead I just wanted to get ahead and so I entered my googlemail address and my blogs entered the void… purgatory… the black hole of Beta.

After emailing Beta Tec support and subscribing to Google Groups I didn’t seem to get anywhere. But lo and behold, Google truly giveth and Google taketh away… Google cache!

Basically my blogs – “abandonallfear.blogspot.com” and “darksidelight.blogspot.com” are gone and I don’t know when or even if they will be back. However, I was able to rescue almost my entire post archives through the glory of Google Cache.

If you’re having the same problem just google “cache:yourblog.yourbloghost.com”.

Since I was considering the merits of moving my blogs to my own Lycos-hosted server, blogger had merely forced my hand and so here it is. With my downloaded cache of old posts I shall soon be restoring and editing them to this blog, with the care and precision of someone restoring the Sistine Chapel.

For the time being, be prepared for this blog to look a little like someone who has come out of a major liposuction operation. Everything is there, it just needs a little nip and tuck.

My recreated blogs can now be found at http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/blog and http://www.abandonallfear.co.uk/darksidelight/ Don’t forget to update your links!

Tags:

Add to del.icio.us

3 Responses to “[Tragedy] Blogger Beta Ate My Blogs!”

  1. Yellow said

    OH MAN!

    So harsh and I was such a fan of the dark side…

    damn you blogger!

  2. Lex Fear said

    Thanks, always great to know I have fans.

    Well the good news is I managed to recreate about 80% of my blog and I’ll be back posting very soon!

  3. Kath said

    Oh gosh, how awful! I lose just one post and I freak out…Got you all fixed on my site, hope this never happens to you again!

Leave a Reply

 
