Abandon All Fear

What nobody else seems to be saying…

[Justification] Where Are Your Accusers?

Posted by Lex Fear on August 20, 2006

“All right, stone her. But let those who have never sinned throw the first stones!” Then he stooped down again and wrote in the dust. When the accusers heard this, they slipped away one by one, beginning with the oldest, until only Jesus was left in the middle of the crowd with the woman. Then Jesus stood up again and said to her, “Where are your accusers? Didn’t even one of them condemn you?”
No, Lord,” she said.
And Jesus said, “Neither do I. Go and sin no more.”John 8:3-11 NLT

All of us can admit to sinning – doing shameful or selfish things – and we can all receive forgiveness from Jesus or the person we offended, and be redeemed. However, in my experience, it doesn’t always end there. Today I stood in Church and whilst I was worshipping I found images brought to mind of all sorts of stupid embarrassing stuff I’ve done over the years. Are these just random blurbs from the subconscious part of my brain? Or is there something more sinister at work?

The Bible says that as Christians we have an enemy, called Satan. Taken from the Hebrew, “Satan” literally means ‘Adversary’ or ‘Accuser’.

Satan – Wikipedia

I believe that just as it was with Job, Satan stands before God and accuses us as believers. Funnily enough, for me, it usually happens at a time when I’m feeling good or trying to focus on God. It seems that as I enter in to the presence of God and into worship, this is when Satan tries his best to dig up the dirt and do a bit of mud-slinging.

For a time it works, both God and Satan know what’s buried in my backyard. I am convinced that the images or thoughts of my worst moments that come right out of the blue, are Satans attempts to convince both me and God that I am not worthy of his grace, or his love. (It’s not always Satan either, there are plenty of people in my life to remind me of the wrongs I’ve done).

It is then that Jesus, our friend and counselor, the advocate and mediator, speaks. He rebukes Satan, who is already condemned. As we lift our heads, Jesus asks “Where are your accusers?”

Tags:

Add to del.icio.us

Leave a Reply

 
